I went to Unity after work today to find VM’s book. I thought it might have sold out today because her name is on the front cover of the paper. I was right. I asked the staff about it, sadly one of them didn’t even recognise VM’s name.

While I was there I noticed that there was a guy sitting on a chair next to where VM’s book used to be. He glanced at me quite a lot. Naturally I assumed he was some undercover eyes dude spying on anyone who was interested in VM’s book. Recent events have made me quite paranoid.

Eventually I just went over to ask him why he was looking at me, because I can be direct like that. He said he thought I was pretty. Apparently I’d caught his eye and he thought he’d caught my eye as well. Actually I was just keeping an eye on him because I thought he was keeping an eye on me.

I explained the misunderstanding (politely) and went to the library to return a CD… he followed me there and continued to show his interest in me. Apparently I’m pretty and have a nice voice. He said he liked straight guys and that he’d like to buy me a coffee just to ‘talk’ to me. I didn’t discourage him too much, because I like to be told by gay men that I’m pretty and have a nice voice, but I couldn’t really encourage any further interaction besides that. Eventually he went away.

I seem to inadvertently lead on gay men quite a lot. I forget that there are men out there who might be after my bottom. Maybe I should wear a rugby shirt or something.

Of course, I’m not discounting the possibility that he was an undercover eye dude, and that pretending to be ‘gay’ was his way of explaining his actions when confronted directly. When I asked if he knew who VM was he said “no, who’s that?” far too quickly. But if that was the case, why would he follow me to the library?

At this point in time, I don’t think there’s such a thing as ‘too paranoid’. Am I being too paranoid?

