Brainstorming is my favourite part of the creative process. Ideas are so much more exciting when they’re fresh. My book has been gathering momentum over the last week. I have to keep a book by my bed because I keep thinking of important snippets of dialogue or plot points while I’m trying to sleep. My book is about: time travel, computer games, zombies, the 1980s, memes and impossible romance.

Each of my chapters is going to be names after a song from the 1980s, because that’s where all my favourite music seems to come from. The late 1970s works as well.The chapters have to match the theme, the mood and/or the lyrics of the song. So far I have:

I Ran, A Flock Of Seagulls.
Head Over Heels, Tears For Fears.
Cars, Gary Numan.
Love My Way, The Psychadelic Furs.
Darkness, Human League.

…though nothing is set in stone. I also want to have Duran Duran, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manouvres In The Dark, The Cure and maybe David Bowie, though the latter seems too… iconic. I’m not sure whether I’m allowed to have two or more songs by the same band. I think I’ll run out of bands if I don’t, unless I discover a bunch of new bands to like. All the bands are British so far, which is fine.

