My girlfriend kept giving away spoilers for Blakes 7 so I spent a couple of days of marathon viewing to get through it all before she could give away too much.

They all died. ALL DIED. It was horrible. Avon standing over Blake’s body while his comrades kept getting shot in slow motion. It succeeds on a level that Doctor Who cannot, because when the Doctor dies he just regenerates, and even if they did find a way to kill him permanently they wouldn’t because he’s too much of a franchise. And then if they did for some reason end the franchise ‘permanently’ they’d just ressurect it again anyway three years down the track because of ‘public demand’. And that’s how you reduce entertainment from art to commodity.

I was really hoping they’d somehow defeat the Federation, but I knew this would be a much better ending. I love stories that can traumatise me as much as this.

